Gluten Free Fluffy Pancakes

23 Jul

I am officially an over-achiever today. I’ve been awake since 4am and by 5:30, jumped out of bed with the vision of pancakes filling my brain.

I ran through my recipes, thinking to use one I haven’t tried before, and landed on Elizabeth Barbone’s Whole Grain Gluten-Free Pancakes. Now, I like buttermilk in my pancakes (thank goodness I am still able to eat it!), and I didn’t want flax this morning, so I tweaked the recipe a tad and made the best pancakes EVER. Even better than those made with wheat. The batter was a bit thick, but flowed enough to smooth out on the griddle. When I flipped them over, they didn’t collapse and they cooked up high and fluffy. Truly, zero g!

More pancakes on the griddleThe liquid ingredient list looks a bit strange, I know. That’s because when I mixed up the batter based on Elizabeth’s recipe (replacing 1/4 cup milk with buttermilk for tanginess), I could tell right away that it was too thick and wouldn’t spread properly on the griddle. I thought to add a bit more milk, but grabbed the cream instead and added 1/4 cup to thin out the batter. I think this added a little buttery flavor to the pancakes since there isn’t any butter in the recipe. Give this one a try and you won’t be disappointed.

I halved Elizabeth’s recipe for this test, so you can easily double this one.

Gluten Free Fluffy Pancakes

Dry Ingredients

  • ¾ cups brown rice flour
  • ¼ cup sorghum flour
  • ¼ cup cornstarch
  • 2 tablespoons dark brown sugar (or organic palm sugar)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon mace
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon xanthan gum

Wet Ingredients

  • 1 large egg, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk, plus enough regular milk to reach 2/3 cup (about 7 Tbsp), slightly warmed
  • 1/4 cup cream
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil (any liquid oil will work)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • Oil for the griddle
 Method
  1. Preheat a griddle to 350 degrees f.
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
  3. In a small bowl or measuring cup, whisk together wet ingredients.
  4. Oil the griddle and wipe off the excess with a paper towel.
  5. Pour the batter 1/3 cup at a time onto the griddle.
  6. Cook until the edges start to firm up and the bottom is golden brown (anywhere from 2-4 minutes, depending on your griddle).
  7. Carefully flip and continue to cook until the other side is golden brown and the edges look firm and dry – another 2-4 minutes. (I have a tendency to pull them off too soon, so I sometimes pull one off and cut into it to make sure it’s done)
  8. Repeat until you use up all the batter.
This recipe can be doubled.
Fuffy Gluten Free Pancakes
One Response to “Gluten Free Fluffy Pancakes”

  1. Sarah P. S. 5 February 2012 at 4:05 am #

    These are amazing. I supplemented the cream and buttermilk with coconut milk and the results were wonderful. Thank you for sharing. I now have my staple GF pancakes. I am so excited.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

