In the beginning…

20 Aug

First, a little background. About 12 years ago, I became really interested in cooking. I went to a culinary school close to home and learned french techniques, pastry techniques, bread techniques, and chocolate making. I almost decided to get a degree in the culinary arts, but decided on Graphic Design instead so I could have cooking as a hobby. With all of the hours I spent in the professional kitchen at the school, I fell in love with bread baking, making my own sourdough starters, ciabatta rolls, olive bread, french bread, lavash, and my all-time favorite, chocolate cherry sourdough.

About five years ago, after struggling with many undiagnosed health issues for a long time, I went on a gluten-free diet at the suggestion of my Chiropractor. What a world of difference it made! The first two years were dismal — every recipe or gluten-free product I tried were awful! Bread heavy as a brick, so dry I could hardly swallow it and tasting like cardboard — not my idea of good food! I’d rather do without than try to eat it.

I admit, even today, I miss the smell of rustic bread baking in my oven, with crispy crusts, fluffy interiors and full of that sweet, toasted flavor that only wheat flour seems to possess. But in the past few years, many professional chefs have worked hard at finding flour mixes that make wonderful tasting, moist cakes, flaky biscuits, and even some excellent breads.

Lately, I find myself striking up conversations with complete strangers in grocery stores, at restaurants, hotels, and the office, all interested in what it means to be celiac and have to eat gluten-free. I have shared cookbooks, recipes, and favorite products with them and decided it was time to put this information out there in an effort to help celiacs with recipes, products, and eating out in the Colorado Front Range.

I hope you find this blog useful and interesting. Drop me a line if you have any questions about anything gluten free!

3 Responses to “In the beginning…”

  1. sleepinghorse 1 May 2011 at 4:19 am #

    I am still in the dismal stage of being gluten free. I was diagnosed with Coeliac disease in October last year. So I’m still learning.

    • Ligea 1 May 2011 at 11:17 am #

      I remember what that’s like and would love to help you in any way I can. Is there a particular food item or recipe that you are looking for? Please let me know if there is anything I can help you find or a recipe I can give you to help overcome the dismal feelings. There is so much available now on the internet that we can eat.

  2. sleepinghorse 6 May 2011 at 4:54 pm #

    Thanks so much for that.

Leave a Reply

