Gluten Free Pizza Crust (and more??) Recipe

27 Apr

I have about 15 pizza crust recipes I have either tried or are on my list to try. About two weeks ago, I decided to give the one I found on glutenfreesoxfan’s blog a try. While this is an old post of her’s, the recipe on Karen’s blog is definitely worth looking into. Most of the recipes I have tried so far are thick and fluffy, much like the pizza my grandfather used to make for me. My, does THAT bring back memories! You know it’s a big deal when your grandfather only offers to make a home made pizza for his first granddaughter but not his own children! It’s something he used to spoil my grandma with on her birthday. Sigh. Those were great times.

But I’ve been craving a thin, crispy crust. In Karen’s recipe, the “dough” seems very odd when you make it. It is very wet – more like a thick cake batter than pizza dough – but if you spread it out on parchment and cook it on a hot pizza stone (the secret to a crunchy crust), it magically puffs up just a bit and gets a lovely crispy crust. The flavor is also very nice – slightly sweet and nutty.

Nice enough that hubby has convinced me to see if I could make it into a dinner roll recipe after I left the extra dough on the counter while I cooked one crust and we ate the pizza. After we  ate, I decided on a whim to go ahead and bake it rather than pour it down the drain. After sitting on the counter for 45 minutes, it became nice and fluffy because the yeast had longer to do their work.

This dough would also make an excellent rosemary lavash, which is a kind of flat cracker you can serve with things like hummus or tapenade. It’s a recipe I learned in my bread techniques class at the Culinary School of the Rockies, and I’ve missed ever since the doctor told me to stop eating gluten. But I digress.

Karen’s post has lots of nice step by step photos, and since I didn’t take any when I made this recipe, you should check out her post to get the details.

I only made a half recipe because I’m always worried about wasting ingredients if I don’t like the result. It turns out this makes a good sized pizza for two with a little left over.

GLUTEN FREE THIN PIZZA CRUST

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup Rice flour (brown rice flour works really well here), plus 2 Tbsp
  • ½ cup tapioca flour, plus 2 Tbsp
  • 1 ½ teaspoons xanthan gum
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 ½ tablespoons sugar
  • 1 ½ tablespoons dry milk powder (or nondairy substitute)
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ teaspoons yeast
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 ½ tablespoons olive oil
  • ½ teaspoon vinegar
  • ¾ cup warm (110-115 degrees f) water
 Method:
  1. With a pizza stone in the oven, Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Put the egg whites, oil, vinegar, and water in the bowl of your mixer and blend with the paddle attachment. In a medium bowl, whisk together the other ingredients. With mixer turned to low, slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet mixture. Once the dry ingredients are incorporated into the wet, turn mixer to high and beat for 3 minutes. The dough will be the consistency of thick cake batter
  3. Line cookie sheets or baking stones with parchment paper (or put the parchment on the counter or your cutting board and transfer it to the oven with a pizza peel).
  4. Spoon out the pizza crust batter and spread to desired thickness and size on parchment paper. I find a spatula dipped in olive oil or very cold water helps in this step.
  5. Slide your pizza crusts onto the back of a baking sheet and let them rise about 10 minutes. Place in the oven for 4-5 minutes.
  6. Take the crust out of the oven and add your toppings and cheese. I have a “green pizza” I like that is made with olive oil and garlic as the sauce, sauteed spinach, artichoke hearts, sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, feta, parmesean and a little mozzarella or fontina. You can also do the traditional red sauce with pepperoni, sausage, mushrooms, bell peppers, onion, black olives, you name it.
  7. Reduce heat to 350 degrees. Place back into the oven for about 5-7 minutes, or until golden brown and delicious.
  8. Remove from oven, slice, and serve!
Leave a Reply

